Call to Adventure

I am the hero of my own story. Everyone is the hero of their own story, no matter how terrible a person they might be.

In the archetypal hero’s journey the hero begins in the ordinary world, the average day-to-day minutia where the hero has been living uncomfortably thus far. The hero feels a desire either to leave or a simple lack of belonging.

The next step is the Call to Adventure.

Something shakes up the situation, either from external pressures or from something rising up from deep within, so the hero must face the beginnings of change.

2016 was my call to adventure.

tumblr_lyqolzahk91qm6oc3o1_500

I do not enjoy where I live. While I understand the merits of New England and living so close to several major cities, I cannot stand my area.

Mostly, just the types of people living around here. In my area there are very few variants in careers and people: preppy and rich business people; working class (who basically do everything else); parents. It is rare that I find an artist or musician (I mean someone whose sole career is music). I know I sound like I’m being a judgmental jerk, but the Stepford Wives book was literally based off the area I live in (and the original move was filmed in our county).

tumblr_mrumq5vyus1se4ombo2_500

Surely that counts for something? I CAN’T BE CRAZY.

So, I’ve decided to move. I’ve been feeling the itch for years but I know it’s time now. Frankly, I don’t have all that much holding me back. I have some great friends I will miss seeing regularly, however I know it’s time to move on.

I’ve narrowed it down to three cities: Portland, OR; Austin, TX; and Boulder, CO. The running theme is hip cities with a young population and lots of things to do. I’m so damn bored where I live. I want to be able to leave my apartment and walk somewhere cool.

tumblr_niab9g10gk1ssvnogo1_500

Portland obviously speaks to me on my weird, individualistic level. I feel that anyone can be anyone there and it’s got a lot going on. Coffee AND breweries? Count me in! My only reservation is the damn weather. I hated living in Scotland (it was an 8-day streak of non-stop snow that nailed the coffin), since it was always gray and rained often. And while I know Portland can be sunny and lovely, I really can’t handle that amount of precipitation.

9377d7cca7c0170714725cc9b712f67f

However, Boulder isn’t exactly the weather paradise either. It gets very cold in Boulder. The difference? The Rocky Mountains. I LOVE MOUNTAINS. Ideally, I would prefer to live in the French Alps (how elitist does that make me sound?), but the Rockys are just as beautiful. Growing up my family used to fly to Colorado from Florida to ski with our family friends. I loved it. I can handle cold as long as there’s sun. And Boulder has lots of breweries, so yay.

h8vav2m

Last but not least, Austin. I think this city also has a weather problem for me. But let’s be real, the only cities with weather I would be 100% happy with are in southern California (and I’m not moving to that state, mostly for lazy job reasons). Austin is hot (which I like) but humid (which I despise). And apparently there’s not a lot of natural areas to explore- but I suppose the city makes up for it. It’s artsy, funky and “weird”.

I’m hoping to visit all three soon to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

